8 Guidelines for the World Cafe

8 Guidelines for the World Cafe

I had intended to draw individual table cards for each of the 8 guidelines for participants in the world cafe. However, due to time constraints and other preparation for the session, I ended up taking the whiteboard from my office wall on which I had sketched the principles as part of my preparations.

I am generally not that comfortable with sharing my whiteboard sketches – I haven’t mastered the format and find I have less control with the whiteboard markers. I always thought whiteboard sketching would be easier because you can erase your mistakes so easily, but I never know where to rest my hand, and find it hard to control the markers with just a pinky finger holding my hand/arm steady.

Anyhow, I think this sketch had the desired effect of providing basic information, and will provide a starting point for me when I finally get around to inking the guidelines for real.

Tagged

8 thoughts on “8 Guidelines for the World Cafe

  1. Seemingly good control over the lettering.

  2. Tami says:

    Hi Jenn. Happy to have found your blog! I also took the Alphachimp class (in 2012, I think), though I think I might like to revisit it. I’m a budding graphic recorder, hoping to use my years of scientific illustration to create a niche in graphic recording for science events. I’ll be working with a graphic recorder next month in Germany at a Nobel Laureate event – my first time live!

  3. Anne says:

    Nice graphic, helps explain how I want my medical students work in teams today.

  4. inesportugal says:

    Hi Jenn. I love so much this graphic that i ask you if i can use it in a flyer for a small meeting please.

    Thanks πŸ™‚

    • jennwicks says:

      Hi there,

      I don’t see why not. Are you doing a World Cafe? I’d love to hear more about it or see a pic of the flyer if you don’t want to share all the details πŸ™‚

      Thanks,
      Jenn

      • inesportugal says:

        Hi Jenn! Thanks so much πŸ™‚

        I made some changes in order to adapt to my invitation flyer, including translated for Portuguese, if you do not mind.

        This is a meeting addressed about 20 people, where they will discuss the issue youth entrepreneurship, with the methodology world coffee πŸ™‚

        Organized by SEA, within the framework of the project SocialTec
        (http://www.seagency.org/wordpress/portfolio/social-tec-2/)

        how can I send you the picture so that you can see?

        kisses

      • jennwicks says:

        Hi there,

        I’m not sure if I responded to your email already?

        I would still love to see the picture and the Portuguese version too!

        Please send along to jmwcks@hotmail.com

        Thank you!

        Jenn

Leave a Reply

